borrower, authentic man, bodies, Individuality, harmonious whole

Harmonious Whole for Spiritual Growth

“Still greater difficulty attends the development of the six-petaled lotus flower situated in the center of the body, for it can only be achieved as the result of complete mastery of the whole personality through consciousness of self, so that body, soul and spirit form one harmonious whole. The functions of the body, the inclinations and passions of the soul, the thoughts and ides of the  spirit must be tuned to perfect unison. The body must be so ennobled and purified that its organs incite to nothing that is not in the service of spirit and soul.” ~Rudolf Steiner

Six-Petaled Lotus

What Mr. Steiner calls the six-petaled lotus is better known as the sacral chakra. This energy center is located just above the root center and is associated with the color oranges and the reproductive organs. While it sound like Steiner is placing great importance on this chakra, in other places he makes it clear that he considers the development of the heart chakra more so. This development of the six-petaled lotus center is also going to aid in development of the heart center.

Mastery of Self

Whether you believe in energy centers or not, virtually all real spiritual schools teach that mastery of self is necessary for significant spiritual development. Some individuals, and even some spiritual schools, teach that it means turning completely within and ignoring the external world entirely. That simply turns people into sheep who let the forces of darkness run amok in the world. If enough of that happens, we will lose and the darkness will control this world permanently.

Hermes taught that both the internal and the external are important with his well-known quote, “As within, so without”.  So mastery of self does mean looking within, but it doesn’t mean ignoring the external world. You don’t get a harmonious whole by looking at only a part and ignoring the rest.

Harmonious Whole

Steiner, and most other spiritual teachers, say that one of the goals of spiritual development is to get the body, spirit, and soul functioning together as a harmonious whole. We would add mind to that giving the four points of a cross with harmony at the center.

Some think that spiritual development means ignoring the body and mind. That is simply not true. While we may occasionally see a spiritual person  who is physically weak, or apparently so, that doesn’t represent the typical adept.

The spiritual student cares for his body. He doesn’t eat junk simply because it tastes good, or is popular. She eats what is healthy and nourishing. He exercises to keep his body strong, but without become obsessed with it. A harmonious whole starts with a healthy body.

Development of the mind is not ignored by the sensible spiritual student—or anyone else who is sensible, for that matter. A strong body doesn’t do much good if it is under control of a weak or ignorant mind. So spiritual students, read and study. They learn as much as they can. Even though intellectuals are often the enemies of the spiritual, we cannot overcome their attitudes without knowing what they know and showing that we are intelligent as well as spiritual.

Last, but certainly not least, is development of the spirit and soul. The first step in this is to awaken them from the dormant state they are in when we enter this world of matter. That is done using the Light of the Spiritual Sun. We use a method commonly called “sun-gazing,” although most practicing it are looking at the physical sun, not the spiritual. More that simply gazing at the sun is required to take in the higher Light of the Spiritual Sun.

While it is easiest to describe this as a step-by-step process. In reality we must do all of it at the same time. By which I mean that you can work on your body for part of the day, your mind for another part, and your spirit and soul in a third part. Not simultaneously, but all in one day. If you want to reach those advanced spiritual levels, you have to work at maintaining that harmonious whole. And we need to awaken all eight energy centers (chakras) so energy flows through them on all levels as well.

highest state, expanded abilities

Expanded Abilities from Expanded Consciousness

“Expanded abilities can develop in people who’ve had a near-death experience, a traumatic accident, or major surgery. It is as though the dramatic shock to the energy body and the mind cracks them open so more of the soul can flood in, bringing heightened consciousness-and-energy. … The traumatic event acts as an excuse to be new—a sort of shortcut to expanded consciousness. … You’ll find, too, that as one ability opens, it’s tied closely to other abilities, and several may occur in rapid sequence.” ~Penney Peirce

Expanded Abilities

What Ms. Peirce calls “expanded abilities” is mostly expanded consciousness. We can think of consciousness as having many layers like an onion. Reaching a new level doesn’t mean we have learned everything. There are probably even higher levels after that until we finally reach the highest called Cosmic Consciousness or Christ Consciousness.

Traumatic Events

Traumatic events can help us awaken a higher level of consciousness. It may be a close brush with death, a severe illness, or even being under anesthesia for surgery. This doesn’t mean you need to have such an experience to reach higher levels of consciousness. There is no need to run out into traffic or jump off a cliff.

Sometimes the traumatic experience is mental rather than physical. The trauma of seeing men dying in a war helped trigger St. Francis’ awakening. Nostradamus was changed by the death of his wife and two children during the plague.

Some are fortunate enough that the triggering event, while traumatic, is not undesirable. They may be triggered by meeting a famous holy man, or even reading about one. Continue reading “Expanded Abilities from Expanded Consciousness”